Life under communism? Life under capitalism?

“…

Although wages have increased over 40 percent in Bulgaria since 2001, a 2005 survey showed almost half of its 7.8 million people live on less than two euros a day. Purchasing power is lower than before the fall of communism in 1989.”

Yarumov is hopeful, but he and others of his generation wonder how EU membership could rival the life they once had under communism.

‘I’m not a communist, but in those times I was free and able to do what I wanted,’ he said.

‘But now, I’m afraid to look people in their eyes.'”

Link to story

About renovatio

I'm a recent college graduate looking forward to realizing my dreams. Hopefully, some of you will share in my successes by reading my blogs!
This entry was posted in Politics, Thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Life under communism? Life under capitalism?

  1. Anonymous says:

    christian, your new layout is quite sick. what kind of a software do you use for this? and i hope you feel better!

  2. olivia says:

    oops, that above comment was from me i forgot to sign it

Leave a Reply

